THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR CHRISTINE GILL

MINUTES OF: THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL AND THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL TO CONFER THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

Date of Meeting: 15<sup>th</sup> May 2009

- PRESENT: The Mayor Councillor Gill (in the Chair) Councillors Aldred, A. Barnes, L. Barnes, Challinor, Cheetham, Crawforth, Dickinson, Driver, Eaton, Essex, Evans, Farrington, Forshaw, Gledhill, Graham, Lamb, Lynskey, May, Morris, Neal, Nuttall, C. Pilling, J. Pilling, Robertson, Sandiford, Smith, Stansfield, H. Steen, P. Steen, Swain, Thorne, Unsworth and Wilson
- IN ATTENDANCE: Helen Lockwood, Chief Executive Linda Fisher, Executive Director of Business Heather Moore, Committee and Member Services Manager Elaine Craven, Civic Services Officer and Leader's Personal Assistant Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Officer

## CIVIC MATTERS

### 1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2009/2010. Councillor Joyce Thorne was proposed by Councillor Swain and seconded by Councillor A. Barnes.

#### **Resolved:**

That Councillor Joyce Thorne be appointed as the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2009/2010.

## 2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor. Councillor Trevor Unsworth was proposed by Councillor Crawforth and seconded by Councillor Swain.

#### Resolved:

That Councillor Trevor Unsworth be appointed as the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2009/2010.

# 3. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR AND MAYORESSES

Councillor A. Barnes spoke in relation to the retiring Mayor and Mayoresses, seconded by Councillor P. Steen, to which Councillor Gill responded.

#### **Resolved:**

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Councillor Christine Gill, Mrs Andrea Fletcher, Mrs Caroline Bleakley and Mrs Philippa Molloy for the excellent manner in which they have fulfilled their duties as Mayor and Mayoresses.

## 4. HONORARY ALDERMEN

In accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council considered nominations to receive the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of eminent service to the Borough.

Councillor A. Barnes proposed Mr Lawrence Forshaw, seconded by Councillor Swain.

Councillor Evans proposed Mrs Sheila Conway OBE JP (previously Oldham for her Council service), seconded by Councillor Forshaw.

### **Resolved:**

That in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following individuals in recognition of their service and dedication to the local community as a Councillor for the Borough of Rossendale.

Mr Lawrence Forshaw Mrs Sheila Conway (previously Oldham)

# 5. APPOINTMENT OF MINI MAYOR

The Mayor announced that Joshua Proctor had been appointed as Mini Mayor for 2009/2010 and she was looking forward to working with him during her Mayoral year.

## **BUSINESS MATTERS**

# 6. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was submitted on behalf of Councillor Haworth.

## 7. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

#### Resolved:

That the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 25<sup>th</sup> March 2009 be signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

# 8. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made.

## 9. URGENT ITEMS

The Mayor reported that there was one urgent item of business relating to the confirmation of the appointment of the Executive Director - Business (Monitoring Officer) which could not be delayed until the next meeting of the Council.

# 10. APPOINTMENTS OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Leader of the Council.

Councillor Smith moved and Councillor Sandiford seconded that Councillor Swain be appointed Leader of the Council.

### **Resolved:**

That Councillor Swain be appointed Leader of the Council for 2009/2010.

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Leader of the Council.

Councillor Essex moved and Councillor C. Pilling seconded that Councillor Challinor be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for 2009/2010.

## Resolved:

That Councillor Challinor be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for 2009/2010.

# 11. APPOINTMENT OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE AND APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR – BUSINESS (MONITORING OFFICER)

The Leader of the Council moved the recommendation of the Appointment Committee that Mrs Helen Lockwood be appointed as Chief Executive of Rossendale Borough Council. This was seconded by Councillor A. Barnes.

#### **Resolved:**

That Mrs Helen Lockwood be appointed as Chief Executive of Rossendale Borough Council.

The Leader of the Council moved the recommendation of the Appointment Committee that Mr Stuart Sugarman be appointed as the Executive Director of Business, subject to Human Resource policies and clearances being completed.

# Resolved:

That Mr Stuart Sugarman be appointed as Executive Director – Business (Monitoring Officer) of Rossendale Borough Council.

## 12. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE MAYOR, THE LEADER OR HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

The Leader of the Council reported that he had accepted a petition in relation to Rossendale Transport.

The Leader of the Council reported that Linda Fisher, Executive Director of Business and Heather Moore, Committee and Member Services Manager were both leaving Rossendale to take up positions in other Authorities. The Leader thanked them for their hard work and Members of the Council wished them well for the future.

# 13. CONSTITUTION OF THE COUNCIL

Members considered the report of the Executive Director – Business (Monitoring Officer) on the adoption of the Constitution of the Council.

### **Resolved:**

That the Council adopts the Constitution of the Council, as amended.

# 14. APPOINTMENTS TO THE CABINET, COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES AND APPROVAL OF THE COMMITTEE SCHEDULE 2009/10

Members considered the report of the Chief Executive on the size of and appointments to the Cabinet and Committees; the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees; the allocation of seats to the Political Groups; appointments to Outside Bodies and the programme of ordinary meetings of the Council for the year. The Mayor referred to an addendum which had been circulated at the meeting.

## **Resolved:-**

- That the Committees identified at Appendix 1 be appointed for the ensuing Municipal Year in accordance with Part 1 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, as amended, and that the allocation of seats to each Group be as indicated against each Committee listed.
- 2. That a Cabinet of seven Members be appointed comprising the membership as set out at Appendix 2.
- That subject to confirmation from Whitworth Town Council in relation to their appointments to the Standards Committee, the appointments listed at Appendix 3 be agreed for the ensuing Municipal Year and that the allocation of seats to each Group be as indicated against each Committee, body or position listed.

- 4. That the list of appointments to Outside Bodies as set out at Appendix 4 be agreed, with the deletion of the Bacup and Stacksteads Community Partnership Board and the Police Authority Community Meeting (PAC) Lancashire Police Authority as these no longer meet.
- 5. That the Public Meetings Schedule for 2009/2010 as set out in Appendix 5 be agreed.

(The meeting started at 6.30pm and finished at 8.00pm)

CHAIR