## THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR AMANDA ROBERTSON

MINUTES OF: THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL AND SPECIAL MEETING

OF THE COUNCIL TO CONFER THE TITLE HONORARY ALDERMAN

Date of Meeting: 6<sup>th</sup> June 2014

PRESENT: The Mayor Councillor Robertson (in the Chair)

Councillors Aldred, Ashworth, Barnes, Cheetham, Creaser, De Souza, Essex, Evans, Farrington, Fletcher, Gill, Hughes, Jackson, Kempson, Kenyon, Knowles, Lamb, McInnes, MacNae, Marriott, Milling, Morris, Neal, Oakes, Procter, Roberts, Sandiford, Serridge,

Shipley, D.Smith, M.Smith and Wilkinson.

IN ATTENDANCE: Helen Lockwood, Chief Executive

Stuart Sugarman, Director of Business

Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Officer Elaine Craven, Civic Services Officer and Leader's PA

George Taylor, Mayor's Attendant Stephen Ibbotson, Mayor's Attendant

ALSO PRESENT: 2 representative of the press

78 members of the public and invited guests

## **CIVIC MATTERS**

## 1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2014/2015. Councillor Thomas Aldred was proposed by Councillor Serridge and seconded by Councillor Neal.

## Resolved:

That Councillor Thomas Aldred be appointed as the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2014/2015.

NB: The New Mayor, Councillor Thomas Aldred, chaired the meeting from this point forward.

## 2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2014/2015. Councillor Marilyn Procter was proposed by Councillor Wilkinson and seconded by Councillor Shipley.

#### Resolved:

That Councillor Marilyn Procter be appointed as the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2014/2015.

#### 3. PRESENTATION AND VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor Barnes moved the vote of thanks and spoke in relation to the retiring Mayor, seconded by Councillor Essex and Councillor Lamb provided supporting comments, to which Councillor Robertson responded.

#### Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Councillor Amanda Robertson for the excellent manner in which she has fulfilled her duties as Mayor.

## **BUSINESS MATTERS**

#### 4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were submitted on behalf of Councillors Bleakley, Crawforth and Eaton.

#### 5. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Councillor Serridge moved an amendment which was seconded by Councillor Barnes, that the minute of the response to Councillor Kenyon's second question, should have said "did not condone the behaviour".

Members were asked to vote on the amendment becoming the substantive motion.

The amendment became the substantive motion.

#### Resolved:

That the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 26<sup>th</sup> March 2014 be signed by the Mayor as a correct record with the amendment detailed above.

## 6. URGENT ITEMS

The Mayor reported that there were no urgent items of business.

## 7. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made.

#### 8. RETIRING COUNCILLORS - VOTE OF THANKS

Councillor Barnes spoke in relation to Councillor Pilling who had not been returned following the Elections on 22<sup>nd</sup> May 2014, this was seconded by Councillor Cheetham.

## Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Councillor Jim Pilling for his hard work throughout his service as an elected member of the Borough.

## 9. ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

The Chief Executive reported that the following persons had been elected councillors on

22<sup>nd</sup> May 2014 and had each made the necessary Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor welcomed all new and returned councillors to the Council.

#### Resolved:

That it be noted that the following persons were elected on 22<sup>nd</sup> May 2014.

# Name of Person Elected Anne Cheetham Ward Eden

Alan Neal Healey and Whitworth

Granville Morris Greenfield
James Eaton Greensclough
Alyson Barnes Goodshaw
Colin Crawforth Hareholme
Brian Essex Helmshore

Helen Jackson Irwell

Liz McInnes Longholme
Jackie Oakes Stacksteads
Karl Kempson Whitewell
Ann Kenyon Worsley

# 10. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE MAYOR, THE LEADER OR HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

Councillor Barnes informed members that she was aware of a public question and invited Ms Hilary Whitehead to speak. Ms Whitehead asked whether the elected representatives of Rossendale said no to fracking and yes to keeping East Lancashire frack free. Councillor Barnes informed that she was aware of concerns in relation to fracking and that the Council would need to understand fracking further in order to give an informed view. Members would want the opportunity to discuss and debate this issue if a scheme was proposed in Rossendale. This wasn't currently the case, but Councillor Barnes thought this was something that members should look at and bring forward for future discussion.

#### 11. CONSTITUTION OF THE COUNCIL

Members considered the report of the Director of Business (Monitoring Officer) on the adoption of the Constitution of the Council.

#### Resolved:

That the Council adopts the Constitution for the 2014/15 Municipal Year.

## 12. POLITICAL BALANCE, COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES FOR 2014/15

Members considered the report of the Chief Executive on the size of and appointments to Committees; the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees; the allocation of seats to the Political Groups, and appointments to Outside Bodies of the Council for the year.

In considering the report members discussed the following:

 Balance on regulatory committees and member representation from each part of the borough. The Deputy Leader of the Council, Councillor Serridge, assured Councillor Neal that the Governance Working Group would review this request.

#### Resolved:

That the Council confirm appointments proposed by the various political groups as set out in the following appendices:

- Appendix A Draft political balance calculation
- Appendix B Draft Committees of the Council, Working Groups, other meetings and Member Champions
- Appendix C Draft representatives on outside bodies

## **SPECIAL MEETING ITEMS**

## 13. HONORARY ALDERMEN

In accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council considered nominations to receive the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of eminent service to the Borough.

Councillor Evans proposed Mrs Joyce Thorne, seconded by Councillor Lamb.

#### Resolved:

That in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following individuals in recognition of their service and dedication to the local community as a Councillor for the Borough of Rossendale:

• M	Mrs Joyce Thorne	(The meeting started at 6.30pm and finished at 7.50pm)
		CHAIR