THE MAYOR, MR THOMAS ALDRED

MINUTES OF: THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

Date of Meeting: 22nd May 2015

PRESENT: The Mayor Mr T. Aldred (in the Chair)

Councillors Ashworth, A. Barnes, Bleakley, Cheetham, Collinge, Crawforth, De Souza, James Eaton, Janet Eaton, Essex, Evans, Farrington, Fletcher, Graham, Haworth, Hughes, Kenyon, Knowles, Lamb, Marriott, Morris, Neal, Oakes, Procter, Robertson, Sandiford,

Serridge, Shipley, Smallridge, D.Smith, M.Smith and Steen.

IN ATTENDANCE: Stuart Sugarman, Chief Executive

Clare Birtwistle, Monitoring Officer

Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager

Elaine Craven, Civic Services Officer and Leader's PA

Michelle Hargreaves, Committee and Member Services Officer

George Taylor, Mayor's Attendant Stephen Ibbotson, Mayor's Attendant

ALSO PRESENT: 61 members of the public and invited guests

CIVIC MATTERS

1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2015/2016. Councillor Marilyn Procter was proposed by Councillor Ann Kenyon and seconded by Councillor Anne Cheetham.

Resolved:

That Councillor Marilyn Procter be appointed as the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2015/2016.

NB: The New Mayor, Councillor Marilyn Procter, chaired the meeting from this point forward.

2. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2015/2016. Councillor Granville Morris was proposed by Councillor Annabel Shipley and seconded by Councillor Patrick Marriott.

Resolved:

That Councillor Granville Morris be appointed as the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2015/2016.

3. PRESENTATION AND VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor Alyson Barnes moved the vote of thanks and spoke in relation to the retiring Mayor, seconded by Councillor Peter Steen and Councillor Neal provided supporting comments, to which Mr Aldred responded.

Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Mr Thomas Aldred for the excellent manner in which he has fulfilled his duties as Mayor.

N.B. Mrs Carolyn Sharples left the Council Chamber and Miss Michelle Hargreaves entered the Council Chamber to resume minuting the meeting.

BUSINESS MATTERS

4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were submitted on behalf of Councillors L.Barnes, Kempson, Lythgoe and McMahon.

5. MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING

Resolved:

That the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 18th March 2015 be signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

6. URGENT ITEMS OF BUSINESS

The Mayor reported that there were no urgent items of business.

7. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made.

8. RETIRING COUNCILLORS - VOTE OF THANKS

Councillor Alyson Barnes spoke in relation to those councillors who had retired or who had not been returned following the Elections on 7th May 2015, this was seconded by Councillor Darryl Smith.

Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Thomas Aldred, Christine Gill, Andrew MacNae and Robert Wilkinson for their hard work throughout their service as elected members of the Borough.

9. ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

The Chief Executive reported that the following persons had been elected councillors on

7th May 2015 and had each made the necessary Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor welcomed all new and returned councillors to the Council.

Resolved:

That it be noted that the following persons were elected on 7th May 2015.

Name of Person Elected	<u>Ward</u>
Janet Graham	Cribden

Lynda Barnes Facit and Shawforth
Sean Serridge Healey and Whitworth

Annabel Shipley Greenfield
Peter Steen Greensclough
Patrick Marriott Hareholme
Tony Haworth Helmshore

Janet Eaton Irwell

Michelle Smith Irwell (by election)

Sam Smallridge Longholme
Christine Lamb Stacksteads
Amanda Robertson Whitewell

Sarah Collinge Whitewell (by election)

Adrian Lythgoe Worsley

10. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Leader of the Council for the period 2015 to 2019.

Councillor Christine Lamb moved and Councillor Sean Serridge seconded that Councillor Alyson Barnes be appointed Leader of the Council.

Resolved:

That Councillor Alyson Barnes be appointed Leader of the Council for 2015/2019.

11. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE MAYOR, THE LEADER AND HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

There were no communications.

12. POLITICAL BALANCE, COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES FOR 2015/16

Members considered the report of the Chief Executive on the size of committees and appointments, including the appointment of the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees; the allocation of seats to the Political Groups, and appointments to Outside Bodies of the Council.

Resolved:

- That Council agreed to merge Corporate Overview and Scrutiny and Partner Overview and Scrutiny to create the Overview and Scrutiny Committee. The committee will have 10 seats.
- 2. That the Council's Constitution be amended to reflect the changes detailed at 1.1 and

- 5.4 of the report.
- 3. That the Council confirm appointments proposed by the various political groups as set out in the following appendices:
 - Appendix A Draft political balance calculation
 - Appendix B Draft Committees of the Council, Working Groups, other meetings and Member Champions
 - Appendix C Draft representatives on outside bodies

13. ANNUAL REVIEW OF THE CONSTITUTION

Members considered the report of the Monitoring Officer on the adoption of the Constitution of the Council.

Resolved:

- 1. That the Council adopts the Constitution for the 2015/16 Municipal Year.
- 2. That future minor amendments to the Constitution be delegated to the Monitoring Officer in consultation with the Portfolio Holder.

(The meeting started at 6.30pm and finished at 7	'.35pm)
	CHAIR