## Annual Meeting of: The Council

## Rossendalealive

 Time:
 6.30pm
 Date
 20<sup>th</sup> May 2016

Venue: Council Chamber, The Business Centre, Futures Park, Bacup. OL13 0BB Supported by: Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Tel: 01706 252422 Email: carolynsharples@rossendalebc.gov.uk

Directions to the Council Chamber and transport information can be found here.

	ITEM	Lead Member/Contact Officer	
Α.	CIVIC MATTERS		
A1.	Election of the Mayor The retiring Mayor will invite nominations for the position of Mayor for 2016/17.	Carolyn Sharples, Committee and	
A2.	Election of the Deputy Mayor The Mayor will invite nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for 2016/17.	Member Services Manager Tel: 01706 252422 Email: <u>carolynsharples@rossendalebc.gov.uk</u>	
A3.	Presentation and vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor		
В.	BUSINESS MATTERS		
B1.	Apologies for absence	-	
B2.	Minutes of the last meeting To receive as read and approve as a correct record the Minutes of the Council meeting held on 16 <sup>th</sup> March 2016.	Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Tel: 01706 252422 Email:	
B3.	Urgent items of business To note any items which the Chair has agreed to add to the Agenda on the grounds of urgency.	carolynsharples@rossendalebc.gov.uk	
B4.	Declarations of interest Members are advised to contact the Monitoring Officer in advance of the meeting to seek advice on interest issues if necessary.		
	Members are requested to indicate at this stage, any items on the agenda in which they intend to declare an interest. Members are reminded that, in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000 and the Council's Code of Conduct, they must declare the nature of any personal interest and, if the interest is prejudicial, withdraw from the meeting during consideration of the item.	Clare Birtwistle, Monitoring Officer. Tel: (01706) 252438 Email: <u>clarebirtwistle@rossendalebc.gov.uk</u>	
B5.	<b>Retiring Councillors – Vote of Thanks</b> The Mayor will invite members to speak about those Councillors who have retired following the local elections on 5 <sup>th</sup> May 2016 and will call for a vote of thanks.	Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Tel: 01706 252422 Email: <u>carolynsharples@rossendalebc.gov.uk</u>	

The agenda and reports are also available for inspection at the Council's One Stop Shop, Futures Park, Bacup. Other formats are available on request. Tel 01706 217777 or contact Rossendale Borough Council, Futures Park, Bacup, OL13 0BB



B9.	Annual Review of the Constitution Report of the Monitoring Officer to agree the Constitution of the Council.		Clare Birtwistle, Monitoring Officer. Tel: (01706) 252438 Email: <u>clarebirtwistle@rossendalebc.gov.uk</u>
B8.	Political balance, committees and outside bodies for 2016/17 To consider the report of the Chief Executive on the allocation of seats to the political groups; the appointments to committees, and appointments to outside bodies for the year.		Stuart Sugarman, Chief Executive Tel: (01706) 252447 Email: <u>stuartsugarman@rossendalebc.gov.uk</u>
B7.	Communications from the Mayor, the Leader and Head of Paid Service To receive any communications from the Mayor, the Leader or the Head of the Paid Service that they may wish to lay before the Council.		Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Tel: 01706 252422 Email: <u>carolynsharples@rossendalebc.gov.uk</u>
B6.	Election of Councillors The Chief Executive as the report that at the Council May 2016, the following p elected as councillors for <u>Name of Person Elected</u> Andrea Fletcher Janice Johnson Tom Aldred Dorothy Farrington Val Roberts Barbara Ashworth Andy MacNae David Stansfield Andrew Walmsley Steve Hughes Pam Bromley Marilyn Procter	Elections held on 5 <sup>th</sup> persons were duly the wards stated:	Stuart Sugarman, Chief Executive Tel: (01706) 252447 Email: <u>stuartsugarman@rossendalebc.gov.uk</u>
	Retiring Councillor Darryl Smith Madeline De Souza Gladys Sandiford Caroline Bleakley Roy Knowles Sarah Collinge	<u>Ward</u> Eden Facit and Shawforth Greenfield Hareholme Longholme Whitewell	

55

Stuart Sugarman Chief Executive Date Published: 12<sup>th</sup> May 2016