THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR ANN KENYON

MINUTES OF: THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL AND SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL TO CONFER THE TITLE HONORARY ALDERMAN

Date of Meeting: 17th May 2019

- PRESENT: Councillor Ann Kenyon (in the Chair) Councillors Aldred, Ashworth, A. Barnes, L.Barnes, Brennan, Bromley, Cheetham, Essex, Farrington, Haslam-Jones, Haworth, Hughes, Johnson, Kempson, Kostyan, Lythgoe, MacNae, Marriott, Morris, Neal, Oakes, Pendlebury, Powell, Procter, Roberts, Serridge, Stansfield, and Walmsley.
- IN ATTENDANCE: Stuart Sugarman, Chief Executive Clare Birtwistle, Monitoring Officer Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Stephanie Carroll, Civic Services Officer and Leader's PA Jenni Cook, Committee and Member Services Officer Glenda Ashton, Committee and Member Services Officer George Taylor, Mayor's Attendant John Illingworth, Mayor's Attendant

ALSO PRESENT: 49 members of the public and invited guests

CIVIC MATTERS

1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2019/2020. Councillor Barbara Ashworth was proposed by Councillor Walmsley and seconded by Councillor Essex.

Resolved:

That Councillor Barbara Ashworth be appointed as the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2019/2020.

NB: The New Mayor, Councillor Barbara Ashworth, chaired the meeting from this point forward.

2. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2019/2020. Councillor Jackie Oakes was proposed as Deputy Mayor for external engagements only by Councillor Serridge and seconded by Councillor Essex.

Resolved:

That Councillor Jackie Oakes be appointed as the Deputy Mayor for external engagements only the Municipal Year 2019/2020.

3. PRESENTATION AND VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor Procter moved the vote of thanks and spoke in relation to the retiring Mayor, seconded by Councillor Cheetham, to which Councillor Kenyon responded.

Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Councillor Ann Kenyon for the excellent manner in which she has fulfilled her duties as Mayor.

BUSINESS MATTERS

4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were submitted on behalf of Councillors Adshead, James Eaton, Janet Eaton, Fletcher, Gill, Steen and Stevens.

5. MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING

Resolved:

That the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 20th March 2019 be signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

6. URGENT ITEMS OF BUSINESS

The Mayor reported that there were no urgent items of business.

7. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made.

8. RETIRING COUNCILLORS - VOTE OF THANKS

Councillor Alyson Barnes spoke in relation to those councillors who had retired following the Elections on 2nd May 2019, this was seconded by Councillor Brian Essex.

Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Janet Graham, Christine Lamb, Amanda Robertson, Annabel Shipley, and Sam Smallridge for their hard work throughout their service as elected members of the Borough.

9. ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

The Chief Executive reported that the following persons had been elected councillors on 2nd May 2019 and had each made the necessary Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor welcomed all new and returned councillors to the Council.

Resolved:

That it be noted that the following persons were elected on 2nd May 2019.

Name of Person Elected Ward Sean Serridge Cribden Lynda Barnes Facit & Shawforth Margaret Pendlebury Greenfield Peter Steen Greensclough Patrick Marriott Hareholme Davne Powell Healey & Whitworth Tony Haworth Helmshore Janet Eaton Irwell Sue Brennan Longholme Terence Haslam-Jones Stacksteads Julie Adshead Whitewell Adrian Lythgoe Worsley

The Mayor wished them well in their role as a councillor.

10. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Leader of the Council for the period 2019 to 2023.

Councillor Oakes moved and Councillor Serridge seconded that Councillor Alyson Barnes be appointed Leader of the Council.

Councillors Essex, Pendlebury and Stansfield requested a recorded vote. Voting took place as follows:

Name	Vote
Cllr Aldred	For
Cllr Ashworth	For
Cllr Alyson Barnes	For
Cllr Lynda Barnes	Against
Cllr Brennan	For
Cllr Bromley	For
Cllr Cheetham	Against
Cllr Essex	Against
Cllr Farrington	For
Cllr Haslam-Jones	For
Cllr Haworth	Against
Cllr Hughes	For
Cllr Johnson	For
Cllr Kempson	Against
Cllr Kenyon	For
Cllr Kostyan	Against
Cllr Lythgoe	For
Cllr MacNae	For
Cllr Marriott	For
Cllr Morris	Against
Cllr Neal	For

Cllr Oakes	For
Cllr Pendlebury	Against
Cllr Powell	For
Cllr Procter	For
Cllr Roberts	Against
Cllr Serridge	For
Cllr Stansfield	Against
Cllr Walmsley	For
For:	19
Against:	10
Abstentions:	0

Resolved:

That Councillor Alyson Barnes be appointed Leader of the Council for 2019/2023.

11. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE MAYOR, THE LEADER AND HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

There were no communications.

12. POLITICAL BALANCE, COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES

Members considered the report of the Chief Executive on the size of committees and appointments, including the appointment of the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees; the allocation of seats to the Political Groups, and appointments to Outside Bodies of the Council.

In considering the report members discussed the following:

• Issues with one of the outside bodies.

Resolved:

That the Council confirm appointments proposed by the various political groups as set out in the following appendices:

- Appendix A Draft political balance calculation
- Appendix B Draft Committees of the Council, Working Groups, other meetings and Member Champions
- Appendix C Draft representatives on outside bodies

Reason for Decision

To ensure that the Council can effectively conduct its business.

Alternative Options Considered

None

13. ANNUAL REVIEW OF THE CONSTITUTION

Members considered the report of the Monitoring Officer on the adoption of the Constitution of the Council.

Resolved:

That the Council adopts the Constitution for the 2019/20 Municipal Year.

Reason for Decision

The Council is required by law to implement a Constitution and agree the contents on an annual basis.

Alternative Options Considered

None

SPECIAL MEETING ITEMS

14. HONORARY ALDERMEN

In accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council considered nominations to receive the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of eminent service to the Borough.

Councillor Marriott proposed Amanda Robertson, seconded by Councillor Essex. Councillor Oakes proposed Mrs Christine Lamb, seconded by Councillor Essex. Councillor Morris proposed Mrs Gladys Sandiford, seconded by Councillor Kenyon.

Resolved:

That in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following individuals in recognition of their service and dedication to the local community as a councillor for the borough of Rossendale:

- Amanda Robertson
- Christine Lamb
- Gladys Sandiford

(The meeting started at 6.30pm and finished at 7.45pm)

_____ CHAIR