COUNCILLOR ANNE CHEETHAM, MAYOR

- MINUTES OF: THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL
- DATE OF MEETING: 19th May 2023
- PRESENT: The Mayor Councillor Cheetham (in the Chair) Councillors Adshead, B. Ashworth, D. Ashworth, A. Barnes, S. Barnes, Coogan, Driver, Foxcroft, Gill, Hodgkiss, Hughes, Johnson, Kenyon, Looker, McInnes, McMahon, MacNae, Marriott, Morris, Neal, Norton, Oakes, Powell, Procter, Rigby, Rooke, M. Smith, S. Smith, Snowden, Thompson, Walmsley and Woods.
- IN ATTENDANCE: Rob Huntington, Chief Executive/Head of Paid Service Clare Birtwistle, Head of Legal/Monitoring Officer Stephanie Carroll, Civic Services Officer and Leader's PA John Illingworth, Mayor's Attendant George Taylor, Mayor's Attendant Darren Kershaw, Mayor's Attendant
- ALSO PRESENT: 1 press 1 public 43 guests

CIVIC MATTERS

1. Election of the Mayor

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2023/24. Councillor Andrew Walmsley was proposed by Councillor Jackie Oakes and seconded by Councillor Barbara Ashworth.

Resolved:

That Councillor Andrew Walmsley be appointed as the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

NB: The New Mayor, Councillor Andrew Walmsley, chaired the meeting from this point forward.

2. Election of the Deputy Mayor

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2023/24. Councillor Judith Driver was proposed as Deputy Mayor by Councillor Alyson Barnes and seconded by Councillor Alan Neal.

Resolved:

That Councillor Judith Driver be appointed as the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

3. Presentation and Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor and Mayoress

Councillor David Foxcroft moved the vote of thanks and spoke in relation to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress, seconded by Councillor Gemma Rooke, to which Councillor Anne Cheetham responded.

Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Councillor Anne Cheetham for the

excellent manner in which she has fulfilled her duties as Mayor.

BUSINESS MATTERS

4. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received for Councillors Eaton, Lythgoe and Whitehead.

5. Minutes of the last meeting

Resolved:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 22nd March 2023 be signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

6. Urgent Items of Business

There were no urgent items of business.

7. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

8. Retiring Councillors – Vote of Thanks

Councillor Liz McInnes spoke in relation to those councillors who had retired following the Elections on 4th May 2023, this was seconded by Councillor Jenny Rigby.

Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Sue Brennan, Janet Eaton, Margaret Pendlebury, Sean Serridge and Peter Steen for their hard work throughout their service as elected members of the borough.

9. Election of Councillors

The Chief Executive reported that the following persons had been elected councillors on 4th May 2023 and had each made the necessary Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor welcomed all new and returned councillors to the Council.

Resolved:

That it be noted that the following persons were elected on 4th May 2023.

Name of Person Elected Ward

Christine Gill	Cribden
Scott Smith	Facit & Shawforth
Neil Looker	Greenfield
Judith Driver	Greensclough
Patrick Marriott	Hareholme
Dayne Powell	Healey & Whitworth
Ann Hodgkiss	Helmshore
Andy MacNae	Irwell
Matt Norton	Longholme
Danielle Ashworth	Stacksteads
Julie Adshead	Whitewell
Adrian Lythgoe	Worsley

The Mayor wished them well in their role as a councillor.

10. Communications from the Mayor, the Leader or Head of Paid Service There were no communications.

11. Political Balance, Committees and Outside Bodies

The Council considered the Political Balance, Committees and Outside Bodies report.

Resolved:

- 1. That the Development Control Committee is reduced from 9 to 7 members as detailed in the appendices and that any required changes are made to the Council's Constitution.
- 2. That the Council confirm appointments proposed by the various political groups as set out in the following appendices:
 - Appendix A Draft political balance calculation
 - Appendix B Draft committees of the Council, working groups, member champions and other meetings.
- 3. That James Heaton be appointed Co-opted Member of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for a 2 year term, subject to relevant policies and references being completed.

Reason for Decision

To ensure that the Council can effectively conduct its business.

Alternative Options Considered

None.

SPECIAL MEETING ITEMS

12. Honorary Aldermen

In accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council considered nominations to receive the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of eminent service to the Borough.

Councillor Jackie Oakes proposed Sean Serridge, seconded by Councillor Christine Gill using Councillor Eaton's speech in his absence. Members discussed the nomination.

Councillors Foxcroft, S.Smith and Rigby requested a named vote.

Members voted as follows:

Name	Vote
Cllr Adshead	For
Cllr Barbara Ashworth	For
Cllr Danielle Ashworth	For
Cllr Alyson Barnes	For
Cllr Samara Barnes	For
Cllr Cheetham	Against
Cllr Coogan	For
Cllr Driver	For
Cllr Foxcroft	Against
Cllr Gill	For
Cllr Hodgkiss	Against
Cllr Hughes	For
Cllr Johnson	For
Cllr Kenyon	For
Cllr Looker	For
Cllr McInnes	For
Cllr McMahon	For
Cllr MacNae	For

Cllr Marriott	For
Cllr Morris	Against
Cllr Neal	For
Cllr Norton	For
Cllr Oakes	For
Cllr Powell	Abstain
Cllr Procter	For
Cllr Rigby	Against
Cllr Rooke	For
Cllr Michelle Smith	For
Cllr Scott Smith	Against
Cllr Snowden	Against
Cllr Thompson	Against
Cllr Walmsley	For
Cllr Woods	Against
For:	23
Against:	9
Abstentions:	1

Resolved:

That in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following individuals in recognition of their service and dedication to the local community as a councillor for the borough of Rossendale:

• Sean Serridge

(The meeting commenced at 6.30pm and concluded at 7.56pm)

Signed	
Ū	(Chair)
Date	