#### COUNCILLOR JOYCE PAWSON

MINUTES OF: THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE BOROUGH

OF ROSSENDALE

Date of Meeting: 18<sup>th</sup> May 2007

PRESENT: The Mayor J Pawson (in the Chair)

Councillors Aldred, A Barnes, L Barnes, Challinor, Cheetham, Dickinson, Driver, Eaton, Essex, Farquharson, C Gill, P Gill, Graham, Hancock, Haworth, Lamb, Morris, Neal, S Pawson, Pilling, Ruddick, Sandiford, Smith, P Steen, Thorne, Tickner,

**Unsworth and Wilson** 

IN ATTENDANCE: Carolyn Wilkins, Chief Executive

Helen Lockwood, Deputy Chief Executive

**George Graham, Executive Director of Resources** 

Linda Fisher, Head of Planning, Legal and Democratic Services Heather Moore, Committee and Member Services Manager Alison Tradewell, Civic Services Officer and Leader's

**Personal Assistant** 

APOLOGIES: Councillors Crosta, Forshaw, Hewlett, Ormerod, Robertson

and Swain

# 1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor. Councillor J Pawson was proposed by Councillor Essex and seconded by Councillor A Barnes.

# Resolved:

That Councillor Joyce Pawson be appointed as the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2007/08.

The Mayor thanked councillors for the honour bestowed upon her and gave an undertaking to carry out faithfully the duties of office over the forthcoming year.

# 2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor. Councillor P Gill was proposed by Councillor Hancock and seconded by Councillor Ruddick.

# Resolved:

That Councillor P Gill be appointed as the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2006/07.

#### 3. VOTE OF THANKS

Councillor Ruddick spoke in relation to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress, to which Councillor Steen responded. Councillor Challinor spoke in relation to the retiring Deputy Mayor and Mayoress.

# Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Councillor Peter Steen and Mrs Hazel Steen for the excellent manner in which they have fulfilled their duties as Mayor and Mayoress of the Borough and also to Councillors Joyce Pawson and Joyce Thorne for their valued service as Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayoress.

# 4. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

# Resolved:

That the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 27<sup>th</sup> March 2007 be signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

# 5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

# 6. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE MAYOR, THE LEADER OR HEAD OF THE PAID SERVICE

There were no communications to report.

# 7. RETIRING COUNCILLORS – VOTE OF THANKS

The following Members spoke in relation those Councillors who had retired or who had not been returned following the local elections held on 3<sup>rd</sup> May 2007. Councillor Neal spoke about David Barnes. Councillor L Barnes spoke about Hazel Steen. Councillor Sandiford spoke about Peter Starkey.

#### Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to retiring Councillors D Barnes, Starkey and H Steen for their hard work throughout their service as elected members of the Borough.

# 8. ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

The Chief Executive submitted a report that the following persons had been elected Councillors on 3<sup>rd</sup> May 2007 and had each made the necessary Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor welcomed all new and returned Councillors to the Council.

#### Resolved:-

That it be noted that the following persons were elected on 3<sup>rd</sup> May 2007.

WARD	PERSON ELECTED
Cribden	Christine Margaret Gill
Eden	Anne Cartner Cheetham
Facit and Shawforth	Thomas Aldred
Greenfield	Catherine Pilling
Greensclough	William Challinor
Hareholme	Amanda Jane Hewlett
Hareholme	Trevor Unsworth
Healey and Whitworth	Roger Wilson
Helmshore	Barry Stuart Pawson
Irwell	Peter Steen
Longholme	Anthony Clark Swain
Longholme	Alison Tickner
Stacksteads	Christine Lamb
Whitewell	Amanda Robertson
Worsley	Joyce Thorne

# 9. OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY ARRANGEMENTS

Members considered the report of the Head of Planning, Legal and Democratic Services outlining proposals to formally adopt the Overview and Scrutiny working arrangements on a permanent basis.

Councillor Sandiford referred to an addendum which had been circulated in respect of the political balance of the Committees. The revised Committees would comprise the following:-

	i otai	Balance
Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee	21	12:7:2
Policy Scrutiny Committee	7	4:2:1
Performance Scrutiny Committee	7	4:2:1
Audit Scrutiny Committee	7	4:3:0

# Resolved:

- 1. That the arrangements for Overview and Scrutiny be adopted on a permanent basis.
- 2. That the size and political balance of the Overview and Scrutiny Committees be agreed as set out above.

# 10. CONSTITUTION OF THE COUNCIL

Members considered the report of the Head of Planning, Legal and Democratic Services on the adoption of the Constitution of the Council.

# Resolved:

That the Council adopts the Constitution of the Council.

# 11. APPOINTMENTS OF LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

The Mayor invited nominations for the positions of Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council

Councillor Smith moved and Councillor Farquharson seconded that Councillor Ruddick be appointed Leader of the Council.

Councillor Driver moved and Councillor Graham seconded that Councillor Challinor be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for 2006/07.

# Resolved:

That Councillor Ruddick be appointed Leader of the Council and that Councillor Challinor be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council.

# 12. APPOINTMENTS TO THE CABINET, COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES AND APPROVAL OF THE COMMITTEE SCHEDULE 2007/08

Members considered a comprehensive report of the Chief Executive on the size of and appointments to the Cabinet and Committees; the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees; the allocation of seats to the political groups; appointments to outside bodies and the programme of ordinary meetings of the Council for the year. The Mayor referred to an addendum which had been circulated at the meeting.

# Resolved:-

- 1. To note the report of the Chief Executive on the list of annual appointments for 2007/08.
- 2. That the Committees identified at Appendix 1 be appointed for the ensuing Municipal Year in accordance with Part 1 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the Local Government (Committees and Political Group) Regulations 1990, as amended, and that the allocation of seats to each group be as indicated against each Committee listed.
- 3. That a Cabinet of six Members be appointed comprising the membership as set out at Appendix 2.
- 4. That the Overview and Scrutiny Committees, Standards Committee and other Council appointments listed at Appendix 3 be established for the ensuing Municipal Year and that the allocation of seats to each group be as indicated against each Committee, body or position listed.
- 5. That the Council notes each political group's appointments to fill their allocation of seats on the above mentioned Committees, bodies and individual positions

- as notified to the Chief Executive at Appendix 3 and agrees to make those appointments so as to give effect to the wishes of each political group.
- 6. That the appointments of Chairs and Vice-Chairs as set out at Appendix 3 be agreed.
- 7. To agree the list of appointments to outside bodies as set out at Appendix 4.
- 8. That the Committee Meetings Schedule for 2007/08 as set out in Appendix 5 be agreed.
- 9. That the relevant Portfolio Holder assumes responsibility for Health ad Safety and Information and Communication Technology issues and the relevant role descriptions be updated accordingly.

(The meeting started at 7.00pm and finished at 8.10pm)