THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR GLADYS SANDIFORD

MINUTES OF: THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

Date of Meeting: 25th May 2012

PRESENT: The Mayor Councillor Gladys Sandiford (in the Chair)

Councillors Aldred, Ashworth, Barnes, Bleakley, Cheetham, Crawforth, Eaton, Essex, Evans, Farrington, Fletcher, Gill, Hughes, Jackson, Kenyon, Knowles, Lamb, McInnes, MacNae, Marriott, Milling, Morris, Neal, Oakes, Pilling, Procter, Roberts,

Robertson, Serridge, Shipley, D. Smith, M. Smith and

Wilkinson

IN ATTENDANCE: Helen Lockwood, Chief Executive

Stuart Sugarman, Director of Business

Fiona Meechan, Director of Customers and Communities

Jenni Cook, Committee Officer

Elaine Craven, Civic Services Officer and Leader's Personal

Assistant

George Taylor, Mayor's Attendant

ALSO PRESENT: 1 representative of the press

70 members of the public and invited guests

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2012/2013. Councillor Brian Essex was proposed by Councillor Evans and seconded by Councillor Barnes.

Resolved:

That Councillor Brian Essex be appointed as the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2012/2013.

NB: The New Mayor, Councillor Brian Essex, chaired the meeting from this point forward.

2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2012/2013. Councillor Amanda Robertson was proposed by Councillor Lamb and seconded by Councillor D Smith.

Resolved:

That Councillor Amanda Robertson be appointed as the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2012/2013.

3. PRESENTATION AND VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR, AND CONSORT

Councillor Cheetham moved the vote of thanks and spoke in relation to the retiring Mayor and Consort, seconded by Councillor Barnes, to which Councillor Sandiford responded.

Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Councillor Gladys Sandiford and Mr James Sandiford for the excellent manner in which they have fulfilled their duties as Mayor and Consort.

4. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MINI MAYOR AND APPOINTMENT OF THE MINI MAYOR FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2012/2013

Councillor Sandiford, the retiring Mayor, thanked Carl Ashworth, the retiring Mini Mayor, for the work he had done during 2011 to 2012.

The Mayor announced that Samuel Turner had been appointed as Mini Mayor for 2012/2013 and he was looking forward to working with him during his Mayoral year.

5. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were submitted on behalf of Councillor Creaser and Councillor De Souza.

6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Resolved:

That the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 21st March 2012 be signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

7. URGENTITEMS

The Mayor reported that there were no urgent items of business.

8. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made.

9. RETIRING COUNCILLORS VOTE OF THANKS

Councillor Milling spoke in relation to those Councillors who had retired or who had not been returned following the Elections on 3rd May 2012 and was seconded by Councillor Neal and supported by Councillor Pilling.

Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Lynda Barnes, Judith Driver, Jason Gledhill, Janet Graham, Nicola May, Tim Nuttall, David Stansfield and Hazel Steen for their hard work throughout their service as elected members of the Borough.

10. ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

The Chief Executive reported that the following persons had been elected Councillors on 3rd May 2012 and had each made the necessary Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor welcomed all new and returned Councillors to the Council.

Resolved:

That it be noted that the following persons were elected on 3rd May 2012.

Name of I	Person Elected	<u>Ward</u>
Councillor	Andrea Fletcher	Cribden
Councillor	Darryl Mark Smith	Eden
Councillor	Madeline De Souza	Facit and Shawforth
Councillor	Gladys Sandiford	Greenfield
Councillor	Barbara Ashworth	Greensclough
Councillor	Dorothy Farrington	Goodshaw
Councillor	Caroline Bleakley	Hareholme
Councillor	Peter Evans	Helmshore
Councillor	Steve Hughes	Irwell
Councillor	Roy Knowles	Longholme
Councillor	Karen Creaser	Whitewell
Councillor	Marilyn Procter	Worsley

11. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE MAYOR, THE LEADER OR HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

The Mayor announced that the Council had received a response from Buckingham Palace to the loyal address sent to Her Majesty the Queen on the occasion of her Diamond Jubilee.

The Leader of the Council had no communications to report.

The Chief Executive had no communications to report.

12. CONSTITUTION OF THE COUNCIL

Members considered the report of the Director of Business (Monitoring Officer) on the adoption of the Constitution of the Council.

Discussion took place on the report and the following points were raised:-

- Police and Crime Panel it was noted that the political balance across Lancashire
 was being updated following other Councils' annual meetings, and the Chief
 Executive confirmed that this would be updated once the figures were available.
- Concerns were expressed regarding the Mayor and Deputy Mayor not appointed as representatives to the Civic Matters Working Group. The Leader of the Council outlined the reasons for doing so.

Resolved:

- 1. That the Council adopts the Constitution, as amended.
- 2. That the Civic Matters Working Group terms of reference be amended in Part 3 of the Constitution as detailed in Appendix 1.
- 3. That Council agrees to the following in relation to the Police and Crime Panel for Lancashire and includes the terms of reference, rules of procedures detailed in Appendix 2 in the relevant sections of the Constitution:
 - Agrees to the establishment of a Police and Crime Panel for Lancashire as a formal Joint Committee of the 15 local authorities for the Lancashire Police force area, on the basis as set out in the attached report (Appendix 2);
 - 2. Appoints a member to the Police and Crime Panel for 2012/13, on the basis as set out in Appendix 2;
 - 3. Agrees to the arrangements, procedural rules and the terms of reference of the Panel as set out in Appendix 2;
 - 4. Agrees that the Panel seeks approval from the Secretary of State to the appointment of up to three additional co-opted members who may or may not be councillors, in order, as far as is reasonably practicable, to be able to meet the balanced appointment objective:
 - 5. Agrees to the appointment of Lancashire County Council as Lead Authority to the PCP and to the appointment of lan Fisher, County Secretary and Solicitor as Secretary to the Panel.

13. POLITICAL BALANCE, COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES FOR 2012/13

Members considered the report of the Chief Executive on the size of and appointments to Committees; the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees; the allocation of seats to the Political Groups, and appointments to Outside Bodies of the Council for the year.

Resolved:

That the Council confirm the appointments proposed by the various political groups as set out in the following appendices:

- Appendix A Political balance calculation
- Appendix B Committees of the Council, Working Groups, other meetings and Member Champions.
- Appendix C Representatives on outside bodies with the following changes:
 - The Council's representatives on the East Lancashire Railway Board of Management will be Councillors Patrick Marriott, Anne Cheetham and Alyson Barnes.
 - The Council's representatives on Green Vales Homes will be Councillors Helen Jackson and Marilyn Proctor.

/Tha	meeting	started	at 6 30r	m and f	finishad	at R N	5nm)
t i ne	meetina	Started	สเ ธ.วบเ	om and i	ımısnea	สเ ด.บ	aomi

	CHAIR