THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR MARILYN PROCTER

MINUTES OF: THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

Date of Meeting: 20<sup>th</sup> May 2016

PRESENT: The Mayor Councillor Procter (in the Chair)

Councillors Aldred, Ashworth, A. Barnes, L.Barnes, Bromley,

Cheetham, Crawforth, James Eaton, Janet Eaton, Essex, Farrington, Fletcher, Haworth, Hughes, Johnson, Kempson, Kenyon, Lamb,

Lythgoe, Marriott, McMahon, Morris, Neal, Oakes, Roberts,

Robertson, Serridge, Shipley, Smallridge, M.Smith, Stansfield, Steen

and Walmsley.

IN ATTENDANCE: Stuart Sugarman, Chief Executive

Clare Birtwistle, Monitoring Officer Sarah Davies, Director of Business

**Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager** 

Elaine Craven, Civic Services Officer and Leader's PA

George Taylor, Mayor's Attendant John Illingworth, Mayor's Attendant

ALSO PRESENT: 55 members of the public and invited guests

1 representative of the press

Prior to the start of the meeting a short silence was held as a mark of respect for Mr Leonard Entwistle and Honorary Alderman Mrs Dorothy Ramsden.

Mr Entwistle sadly passed away in March and was councillor for Longholme Ward between 2004 and 2007.

Mrs Ramsden passed away on the 19<sup>th</sup> May and was made Honorary Alderman in 2008 in recognition of her 19 years service as a borough councillor for Acre and Town between 1973 to 1976 and Greenfield Ward between 1976 and 1992. She was also Mayor between 1982 to 1983.

# **CIVIC MATTERS**

# 1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2016/2017. Councillor Granville Morris was proposed by Councillor Anne Cheetham and seconded by Councillor Alyson Barnes.

#### Resolved:

That Councillor Granville Morris be appointed as the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2016/2017.

NB: The New Mayor, Councillor Granville Morris, chaired the meeting from this point forward.

# 2. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2016/2017. Councillor Colin Crawforth was proposed by Councillor Christine Lamb and seconded by Councillor Peter Steen.

#### Resolved:

That Councillor Colin Crawforth be appointed as the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2016/2017.

# 3. PRESENTATION AND VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor Alyson Barnes moved the vote of thanks and spoke in relation to the retiring Mayor, seconded by Councillor David Stansfield, to which Councillor Procter responded.

#### Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Councillor Marilyn Procter for the excellent manner in which she has fulfilled her duties as Mayor.

# **BUSINESS MATTERS**

#### 4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were submitted on behalf of Councillors Graham and MacNae.

# 5. MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING

#### Resolved:

That the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 16<sup>th</sup> March 2016 be signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

# 6. URGENT ITEMS OF BUSINESS

The Mayor reported that there were no urgent items of business.

#### 7. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made.

#### 8. RETIRING COUNCILLORS - VOTE OF THANKS

Councillor Barbara Ashworth spoke in relation to those councillors who had retired or who had not been returned following the Elections on 5<sup>th</sup> May 2016, this was seconded by Councillor Anne Cheetham, and Councillor Alan Neal provided supporting comments.

#### Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Caroline Bleakley, Sarah Collinge,

Madeline De Souza, Roy Knowles, Gladys Sandiford and Darryl Smith for their hard work throughout their service as elected members of the Borough.

# 9. ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

The Chief Executive reported that the following persons had been elected councillors on 5<sup>th</sup> May 2016 and had each made the necessary Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor welcomed all new and returned councillors to the Council.

#### Resolved:

That it be noted that the following persons were elected on 5<sup>th</sup> May 2016.

Name of Person Elected	<u>Ward</u>
Andrea Fletcher	Cribden
Janice Johnson	Eden

Tom Aldred Facit and Shawforth

Dorothy Farrington Goodshaw
Val Roberts Greenfield
Barbara Ashworth Greensclough
Andy MacNae Hareholme
David Stansfield Helmshore

Andrew Walmsley Irwell

Steve Hughes Longholme
Pam Bromley Whitewell
Marilyn Procter Worsley

# 10. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE MAYOR, THE LEADER AND HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

There were no communications.

# 11. POLITICAL BALANCE, COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES FOR 2016/17

Members considered the report of the Chief Executive on the size of committees and appointments, including the appointment of the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees; the allocation of seats to the Political Groups, and appointments to Outside Bodies of the Council. Members were informed that an amended Appendix B had been circulated.

#### Resolved:

That the Council confirm appointments proposed by the various political groups as set out in the following appendices:

- Appendix A Draft political balance calculation
- Appendix B Draft Committees of the Council, Working Groups, other meetings and Member Champions
- Appendix C Draft representatives on outside bodies

#### **Reason for Decision**

To ensure that the Council can effectively conduct its business.

# **Alternative Options Considered**

None

# 12. ANNUAL REVIEW OF THE CONSTITUTION

Members considered the report of the Monitoring Officer on the adoption of the Constitution of the Council.

#### Resolved:

- 1. That the Council adopts the Constitution for the 2016/17 Municipal Year.
- 2. Members agreed to amend the Constitution as detailed in Appendix A, and consult with the Independent Remuneration Panel on the proposal to split the special responsibility allowance of the Chair of Licensing between the Chair and Vice-chair and remove the one off payments of £150 to the Vice-chair.

# **Reason for Decision**

The Council is required by law to implement a Constitution and agree the contents on an annual basis.

<b>Alternative Options</b>	Considered
None	

(The meeting started at 6.30pm and finish	ned at 7.40pm)
	CHAIR