## THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR GRANVILLE MORRIS

MINUTES OF: THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

Date of Meeting: 12<sup>th</sup> May 2017

PRESENT: The Mayor Councillor Morris (in the Chair)

Councillors Ashworth, A. Barnes, Bromley, Cheetham, Crawforth, Essex, Farrington, Fletcher, Haworth, Hughes, Johnson, Kenyon, Lamb, MacNae, Marriott, McMahon, Neal, Oakes, Procter, Roberts, Robertson, Serridge, Shipley, Smallridge, M.Smith, Stansfield, Steen

and Walmsley.

IN ATTENDANCE: Stuart Sugarman, Chief Executive

Clare Birtwistle, Monitoring Officer

Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Stephanie Carroll, Civic Services Officer and Leader's PA Jenni Cook, Committee and Member Services Officer Glenda Ashton, Committee and Member Services Officer

George Taylor, Mayor's Attendant John Illingworth, Mayor's Attendant

ALSO PRESENT: 51 members of the public and invited guests

# **CIVIC MATTERS**

## 1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2017/2018. Councillor Colin Crawforth was proposed by Councillor Christine Lamb and seconded by Councillor Peter Steen.

#### Resolved:

That Councillor Colin Crawforth be appointed as the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2017/2018.

NB: The New Mayor, Councillor Colin Crawforth, chaired the meeting from this point forward.

## 2. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2017/2018. Councillor Ann Kenyon was proposed by Councillor Marilyn Procter and seconded by Councillor Anne Cheetham.

#### Resolved:

That Councillor Ann Kenyon be appointed as the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2017/2018.

#### 3. PRESENTATION AND VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor David Stansfield moved the vote of thanks and spoke in relation to the retiring Mayor, seconded by Councillor Serridge, to which Councillor Morris responded.

## Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Councillor Granville Morris for the excellent manner in which he has fulfilled his duties as Mayor.

# **BUSINESS MATTERS**

#### 4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were submitted on behalf of Councillors Tom Aldred, Lynda Barnes, James Eaton, Janet Eaton, Janet Graham, Karl Kempson and Adrian Lythgoe.

## 5. MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING

## Resolved:

That the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 22<sup>nd</sup> March 2017 be signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

## 6. URGENT ITEMS OF BUSINESS

The Mayor reported that there were no urgent items of business.

## 7. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made.

# 8. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE MAYOR, THE LEADER AND HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

There were no communications.

## 9. POLITICAL BALANCE, COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE BODIES FOR 2017/18

Members considered the report of the Chief Executive on the size of committees and appointments, including the appointment of the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees; the allocation of seats to the Political Groups, and appointments to Outside Bodies of the Council.

## Resolved:

That the Council confirm appointments proposed by the various political groups as set out in the following appendices:

- Appendix A Draft political balance calculation
- Appendix B Draft Committees of the Council, Working Groups, other meetings and Member Champions
- Appendix C Draft representatives on outside bodies

Reason	for	<b>Decision</b>

To ensure that the Council can effectively conduct its business.

# **Alternative Options Considered**

None

# 10. ANNUAL REVIEW OF THE CONSTITUTION

Members considered the report of the Monitoring Officer on the adoption of the Constitution of the Council.

## Resolved:

That the Council adopts the Constitution for the 2017/18 Municipal Year.

# **Reason for Decision**

The Council is required by law to implement a Constitution and agree the contents on an annual basis.

# **Alternative Options Considered**

None

(The meeting started at 6.30pm and finished at	7.25pm)
	CHAIR