

Annual Meeting of: The Council

Special Meeting of: The Council to confer the title Honorary Alderman

Time: 6.30pm **Date** 17th May 2019

Venue: Council Chamber, The Business Centre, Futures Park, Bacup. OL13 0BB

Supported by: Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Tel: 01706 252422

Email: carolynsharples@rossendalebc.gov.uk

Directions to the Council Chamber and transport information can be found here.

	ITEM	Lead Member/Contact Officer	
A.	CIVIC MATTERS		
A1.	Election of the Mayor The retiring Mayor will invite nominations for the position of Mayor for 2019/20.		
A2.	Election of the Deputy Mayor The Mayor will invite nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for 2019/20.	Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Tel: 01706 252422 Email: carolynsharples@rossendalebc.gov.uk	
A3.	Presentation and vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor		
B.	BUSINESS MATTERS		
B1.	Apologies for absence		
B2.	Minutes of the last meeting To receive as read and approve as a correct record the Minutes of the Council meeting held on 20 th March 2019.	Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Tel: 01706 252422 Email: carolynsharples@rossendalebc.gov.uk	
В3.	Urgent items of business To note any items which the Chair has agreed to add to the Agenda on the grounds of urgency.		
B4.	Declarations of interest Members are advised to contact the Monitoring Officer in advance of the meeting to seek advice on interest issues if necessary.		
	Members are requested to indicate at this stage, any items on the agenda in which they intend to declare an interest. Members are reminded that, in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000 and the Council's Code of Conduct, they must declare the nature of any personal interest and, if the interest is prejudicial, withdraw from the meeting during consideration of the item.	Clare Birtwistle, Monitoring Officer. Tel: (01706) 252438 Email: clarebirtwistle@rossendalebc.gov.uk	

The agenda and reports are also available for inspection at the Council's One Stop Shop, Futures Park, Bacup. Other formats are available on request. Tel 01706 217777 or contact Rossendale Borough Council, Futures Park, Bacup, OL13 0BB



B5.	Retiring Councillors – Vote of Thanks The Mayor will invite Members to speak about those Councillors who have retired following the local elections on 2 nd May 2019 and will call for a vote of thanks. Retiring Councillor Annabel Shipley Sam Smallridge Christine Lamb Amanda Robertson Greenfield Longholme Stacksteads Whitewell	Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Tel: 01706 252422 Email: carolynsharples@rossendalebc.gov.uk
B6.	Election of Councillors The Chief Executive as the Returning Officer will report that at the Council Elections held on 2 nd May 2019, the following persons were duly elected as councillors for the wards stated: Name of Person Elected Sean Serridge Cribden Lynda Barnes Facit &Shawforth Margaret Pendlebury Greenfield Peter Steen Greensclough Patrick Marriott Hareholme Dayne Powell Healey & Whitworth Tony Haworth Helmshore Janet Eaton Irwell Sue Brennan Longholme Terence Haslam-Jones Stacksteads Julie Adshead Whitewell Adrian Lythgoe Worsley	Stuart Sugarman, Chief Executive Tel: (01706) 252447 Email: stuartsugarman@rossendalebc.gov.uk
B7.	Appointment of the Leader To appoint the Leader of the Council for a four year period from 2019/2023.	Stuart Sugarman, Chief Executive Tel: (01706) 252447 Email: stuartsugarman@rossendalebc.gov.uk
B8.	Communications from the Mayor, the Leader and Head of Paid Service To receive any communications from the Mayor, the Leader or the Head of the Paid Service that they may wish to lay before the Council.	Carolyn Sharples, Committee and Member Services Manager Tel: 01706 252422 Email: carolynsharples@rossendalebc.gov.uk
B9.	Political balance, committees and outside bodies for 2019/20 To consider the report of the Chief Executive on the allocation of seats to the political groups; the appointments to committees, and appointments to outside bodies for the year.	Stuart Sugarman, Chief Executive Tel: (01706) 252447 Email: stuartsugarman@rossendalebc.gov.uk
B10.	Annual Review of the Constitution Report of the Monitoring Officer to agree the Constitution of the Council.	Clare Birtwistle, Monitoring Officer. Tel: (01706) 252438 Email: clarebirtwistle@rossendalebc.gov.uk

C.	SPECIAL MEETING ITEMS	
C1.	Honorary Aldermen To consider the nominations and to confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Rossendale to the following: • Amanda Robertson • Christine Lamb • Gladys Sandiford	Stuart Sugarman, Chief Executive Tel: (01706) 252447 Email: stuartsugarman@rossendalebc.gov.uk

Stuart Sugarman Chief Executive Date Published: 9th May 2019