Borough Council Elections - Thursday 3 May 2018

Local Elections 3 May 2018 – list of candidates, important information and deadlines

Local Elections 3 May 2018


Current Elections

Borough Council Elections - Thursday 3 May 2018

Rossendale Borough Council comprises 36 elected Councillors representing 14 Wards across the Borough.  Councillors are elected to serve a 4 year term with elections covering one third of the seats taking place every year, except 1 year in 4 when County Council elections are held.

Rossendale Borough Council Notice of Election May 2018

On Thursday 3 May 2018, residents will have their say on how Rossendale Borough Council is run.  One Councillor in each of the following wards is being elected:

  • Eden
  • Goodshaw
  • Greenfield
  • Greensclough
  • Hareholme
  • Healey & Whitworth
  • Helmshore
  • Irwell
  • Longholme
  • Stacksteads
  • Whitewell
  • Worsley

How to stand as a candidate - Nominations for this election have now closed.

Statement of Persons Nominated

Notice of Elections Agents

A pre-nomination briefing for prospective candidates and agents will be held in the Council Chamber, Futures Park, Bacup, OL13 0BB, at 5.30pm on Monday 12 March 2018. The briefing will cover key aspects of the nomination process, access to electoral registers and timetable information.  Please contact Electoral Services if you wish to attend the briefing..

The nomination period will be open from 9.00am on Wednesday 28 March 2018 and closes at 4.00pm on Friday 6 April 2018.

For more information about standing as a candidate or to obtain a nomination pack, please contact Electoral Services.  Further information and nomination forms are also available from the Electoral Commission.

Register to vote

Registered voters will be sent a poll card between the end of March and early April.  If you have not received a poll card by 8 April 2018, or you have recently moved, you may not be registered to vote.  You can register to vote online or contact Electoral Services and request a paper copy of the form.  The deadline to register to vote at these elections is midnight on Tuesday 17 April 2018.

Who can vote

To vote at these elections, you must be aged 18 or over on election day and be a British, Irish or Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of another member state of the European Union.

Your name must appear on the Electoral Register before you can vote.

Voting by post

Voters who have already requested to vote by post will be sent a postal poll card around the end of March with information about their postal vote.  If you wish to cancel your postal vote and vote in person at your polling station, you must notify Electoral Services before 5pm on Wednesday 18 April 2018.

If you wish to apply to vote by post, you must send us your completed application before 5pm on Wednesday 18 April 2018.  Please contact Electoral Services to request an application form.

If you require a postal vote because you will be away on election day but are going away before they are posted around 23 April, you may wish to consider voting by proxy instead.  if you wish to vote by proxy, you must send us your completed application before 5pm on Wednesday 25 April 2018.  If you are already registered to vote by post, you must cancel your postal vote before 5pm on Wednesday 18 April 2018 if you now wish to vote by proxy.

When will I receive my postal vote?

Your postal vote will be sent around 23 April 2018 by first class mail.

If you have not received your postal vote by Friday 27 April 2018, please contact Electoral Services.

How do I complete my postal vote?

When you receive your postal vote, read the instructions carefully.  Your postal vote includes the ballot paper and a postal voting statement.  Complete both of these and return them straight away.  Completed postal votes need to be returned to the Returning Officer by 10pm on Thursday 3 May 2018.  If you miss the post you can hand your completed postal vote into any polling station in the Ward in which you are registered or at Futures Park in Bacup.

If you need help to vote, you can ask someone you know or get independent help by contacting Electoral Services.

If you lose your postal vote or make a mistake, contact Electoral Services straight away.  A replacement postal vote can only be issued before 5pm on Thursday 3 May 2018.

Voting by proxy

If you will be away or cannot go to the polling station on 3 May, you can apply to vote by proxy.  This means someone else can vote on your behalf.

Completed applications must reach us before 5pm on Wednesday 25 April 2018.  Your appointed proxy must attend your polling station to vote on your behalf.  If they are unable to attend your polling station they can apply to vote by postal proxy but they must do so before 5pm on Wednesday 18 April 2018.  Contact Electoral Services for an application form.

If after 5pm on Wednesday 25 April 2018 you have a medical emergency or learn you cannot go to the polling station because of work reasons, you can apply to vote by emergency proxy.  This means someone else can vote on your behalf.  The deadline for completed applications is 5pm on Thursday 3 May 2018.

How to vote

Always read the instructions on how to complete the ballot paper carefully, even if you have voted before.  The ballot paper lists the name of each candidate along with their party name and party logo (if any).

You are able to vote for one candidate at the Rossendale Borough Council election.  Simply put an X (a cross) next to the candidate you wish to vote for.

Who is elected

The candidate with the most votes is elected using the first past the post system.  A total of 12 Borough Councillors for Rossendale will be elected.  Each will serve a 4 year term of office.


The count will take place on Friday 4 May 2018 at 9.30am.  Results will be announced throughout the day and will be published on this website.

More information

If you would like more information about these elections, please contact Electoral Services