Our Rossendale

Rossendale is situated in East Lancashire, bordering Bury, Hyndburn, Burnley, Todmorden and Rochdale. The area is around 13,800 hectares, covering about 4.8% of Lancashire as a whole.

Rossendale has four main towns; Rawtenstall, Haslingden, Bacup and Whitworth.

Rossendale is broken down into 14 wards.

View ward profiles.

You can get detailed statistics and information about the makeup of these wards here;

In every area, there are community groups and residents’ networks working hard for the good of the community.

With a population of just over 69,000, growing year on year, Rossendale is a vibrant industrial area with quaint villages and independent high streets. The area is going through large-scale regeneration and also heritage preservation.

The Council services we provide are;

Waste and recycling collections, street cleaning, parks, open spaces, cemeteries, land charges, building control, planning, environmental health, homelessness provision, licensing, council tax support, benefit investigation, elections.

As we are a two-tier authority, Lancashire County Council provide the following services within Rossendale;

Highways, gritting, road repairs, street lighting, schools, social services, social care, flooding, libraries, children’s centres, sustainable travel, audit.